group-people-hugging-each-other-park.jpg

PLATFORM

"I come from a proud family that has been involved with public service for as long as I can remember. I want to work for you. We need to create more living wage jobs, improve our schools, and make public safety - especially getting guns off the streets, a top priority. With nearly a decade of government experience, I know what it takes to find solutions, navigate the complicated governmental agencies, and get things done."
THE ISSUES AT HAND
What are the most important challenges facing your district and how would you address them?

 

The most important challenges facing my district at this moment is safety for the community regarding reckless driving and gun violence. Economic growth and development is another challenge the community faces including development of small businesses and secure job placement. The last challenge that I see is accountability to the people. I will address the challenges with community involvement and by working with the Milwaukee Police Department to develop a working relationship with the community. This will include town hall meetings and community outreach programs.

What would you do to ensure all residents of your district have equal opportunities to access and enjoy the resources of the city (affordable housing, safety, health, and jobs)?

 

I will ensure all residents of my District equal opportunities to access and enjoy the resources of the city by hosting financial literacy development seminars. I will advocate for more funding for Police Officers to help curve the safety issues. I will allocate more funding for affordable housing developments. I will meet with business investors to advocate for more jobs and job security in the community. I will host health fairs and job fairs throughout the year in the community.

What are your priorities for the spending of federal monies allocated to the City of Milwaukee?

 

My priorities for spending of federal monies allocated to the City of Milwaukee would be to address the safety concerns of the citizens.

What educational, professional, civic, and community experiences qualify you for this elective office?

 

I am a native of Milwaukee, with deep roots in the heart of the city. Retired from the Milwaukee Police as a Detective after 28 years of service I have gained the experience working daily with the community. I received my Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice and my Master of Science degree in management. I am a mother of four children, 33, 28, 22 and 17 years of age and grandmother of an 11 year old. Over the years I have invested in Milwaukee with my businesses and worked with the youth teaching throughout MPS schools the "STOP" (students talking it over with Police) program.

2O0A9732.JPG
Lucas-Cityhall-removebg-preview_edited.png